LONDON BOROUGH OF HARROW

CABINET – 20 JUNE 2012

REFERENCE FROM OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE - 12 JUNE 2012

Revised Proposed West London Waste Plan: Pre-Submission Consultation Document

Chairman: * Councillor Jerry Miles

Councillors: * Sue Anderson * Barry Macleod-Cullinane

* Ann Gate
* Krishna James
* Zarina Khalid
* Chris Mote (1)
* Paul Osborn
* Stephen Wright

Voting (Voluntary Aided) (Parent Governors)

Co-opted:

† Mrs J Rammelt Mrs A Khan

Reverend P Reece

In attendance: Christine Bednell Minute 280 (Councillors) Keith Ferry Minute 279

* Denotes Member present

(1) Denote category of Reserve Members

† Denotes apologies received

279. Development Plan Documents (DPD)

(e) Revised Proposed West London Waste Plan: Pre-Submission Consultation Document:

The Committee received a report of the Corporate Director of Place Shaping which followed on from a previous report submitted to the Committee which had considered and recommended that Cabinet approve the West London Waste Plan: Pre-Submission Consultation document subject to amendments. The report advised that, following discussions with partner boroughs, agreement was sought to a revised site designation to Harrow's Depot site that would overcome the Council's concerns in relation to the policy wording of the draft Plan.

Members welcomed the ownership of the land and expressed the view that the Council dealt with waste more efficiently than other boroughs.

RESOLVED: That

- (1) the revised West London Waste Plan: Pre-submission Consultation Document attached at Appendix A to the report of the Corporate Director of Place Shaping, including the revision to the Harrow Council depot site designation, be noted.
- (2) to note that the revised West London Waste Plan: Pre-submission Consultation Document would be recommended to Cabinet and Full Council for an eight week period of public consultation.

FOR CONSIDERATION

Background Documents:

Report submitted to Overview and Scrutiny Committee held on 12 June 2012

Draft minutes of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee – 12 June 2012

Contact Officer:

Alison Atherton, Senior Professional Democratic Services

Tel: 020 8424 1266

Email: alison.atherton@harrow.gov.uk